Wanjiru, Mikitenko Claim 2008-09 World Marathon Majors Series Titles

11/05/2009 - 17:40

Wanjiru_Sammy1b-Chicago09rn-11-5-09.jpgNEW YORK - - Samuel Wanjiru of Kenya and Irina Mikitenko of Germany (left, WMM) are the winners of the 2008-09 World Marathon Majors series, and both were presented with $500,000 USD for their respective accomplishment at an award ceremony on Monday in New York. Wanjiru collected 90 points over the two-year series, winning at the 2008 Olympics, as well as at London and Chicago in 2009. He was also runner-up at London 2008. Similarly, Mikitenko won three major marathons and finished second place in another during the last two years; she won at London in both 2008 and 2009, was victorious at Berlin 2008, and was runner-up at Chicago last month. Mikitenko also won the 2007-08 WMM series.

In the series, the world's top runners score points for winning and top placings at the five events which comprise the World Marathon Majors: Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, real,-Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In years in which the Olympic Games and IAAF World Championships are contested, those marathons also count in the point totals.

WMM series points are collected for top five finishes with 25 points for first place, 15 for second, 10 for third, 5 for fourth and 1 for fifth.

2008-09 Final Leader Board
1) Samuel Wanjiru (KEN), 90 pts, $500,000
2) Haile Gebrselassie (ETH), 50 pts
3) Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot (KEN), 41 pts
4) Abderrahim Goumri (MAR), 40 pts
5) Tsegaye Kebede (ETH), 35 pts
5) Jaouad Gharib (MAR), 35 pts

1) Irina Mikitenko (GER), 90 pts, $500,000
2) Dire Tune (ETH), 40 pts
3) Liliya Shobukhova (RUS), 35 pts
3) Lidiya Grigoryeva (RUS), 35 pts
5) Ludmila Petrova (RUS), 31 pts
5) Salina Kosgei (KEN), 31 pts

Winners of the World Marathon Majors series:
Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot (KEN)
Gete Wami (ETH)

Martin Lel (KEN)
Irina Mikitenko (GER)

Samuel Wanjiru (KEN)
Irina Mikitenko (GER)

Copyright © 2018 Running Journal