USA Track and Field Annual Meeting News and Notes, Volume 12, Number 27

12/03/2012 - 05:14

1. Hightower wins re-election
2. Individuals honored at Awards Lunch
3. Sites selected for 2014 youth championships

Hightower wins re-election, USATF elects multiple positions
Stephanie Hightower won re-election for a second four-year term Saturday as USA Track & Field President. After being first elected in 2008, Hightower won re-election over Matt Rigby by a final total of 454 to 83 during the USATF Annual Meeting at the Daytona Beach Hilton. This will be Hightower’s final term as President as the position is limited to two terms.

USATF also elected former president Bill Roe as the organization’s long distance running chair. Roe defeated Glenn Latimer by a final count of 81-67.

The Athletes Advisory Committee (AAC) was also busy establishing new positions. Its new list of event leaders and officers can be found below.

Event Leaders
Sprints - Wallace Spearmon, Jenaba Tarmoh
Vertical Jumps - Jeff Hartwig, Melinda Owen
Horizontal Jumps - Will Claye, Tiombe Hurd
800m-1500m - Will Leer, Anne Shadle
Hurdles - Terrence Trammell, Christine Spence
Multi-Events - Trey Hardee, Hyleas Fountain
3000m-10000m - Brandon Bethke, Ann Gaffigan
Racewalk - Dave McGovern, Solomiya Login
Throws - Kibwe Johnson, Loree Smith
Road Running/Cross Country - Teddy Mitchell, Kelly Flathers
At-Large - Brad Walker, Alice Schmidt

AAC Officers
Chair - Jon Drummond
Vice-Chair - Allen Johnson
Secretary - Dexter McCloud
Treasurer - Lesley Higgins
USOC AAC Representative - Mechelle Freeman
USOC AAC Representative alternate - John Nunn
USATF BOD 1 - Darvis Patton
USATF BOD 2 - Aretha Thurmond

Youth also held runoffs where Ron Mascareñas won the position of Executive Vice Chair and Booker Woods gained the at-large selection.

Individuals honored at Awards Lunch
Saturday at the USA Track & Field Annual Meeting at the Daytona Beach Hilton, a number of individuals who have made significant contributions to the sport were honored during the annual Awards Lunch.

Those award winners included:

Associations awards
Association of the Year - Missouri Valley
Horace Crow, Jr. Award - Scott Rose

Coaching Education awards
Dr. Joe Vigil Coaches Education Award - Dr. Steve Portenga
Ron Buss Service Award - Andrew Allden
Fred Wilt Coaching Education Award - Troy Engle

Men’s Long Distance Running awards
Allan Steinfeld Award - Guy Morse
H. Browning Ross Merit Award - Andy Carr
Robert E. DeCelle Jr. Award - Meb Keflezighi
Scott Hamilton Memorial Award - Tracey Russell

Men’s Track & Field
Harrison Dillard Award - Aries Merritt

Race Walking awards
Captain Ron Zinn Memorial Award - Trevor Barron, Maria Michta
Henry Laskau Junior Athlete Award - Tyler Sorenson, Maite Moscoso
Masters Race Walker on the Year - Tim Seaman, Teresa Vaill

Sports Medicine and Science awards
Dr. C. Harmon Brown Award - Peter McGinnis, Ph.D.; Monique Burton, M.D.; LaGywn Durden, ATC; Benny Vaughn, ATC, LMP

Women’s Long Distance Running
Marja Bakker Contributor of the Year - Houston Marathon Committee

Women’s Track & Field
C.C. Jackson Award-Field Athlete - Jenn Suhr
C.C. Jackson Award-Track Athlete - Allyson Felix
Joseph Robichaux Award - Amy Deem

Sites selected for 2014 youth championships
A trio of sites were determined for youth championships for the 2014 cross country and track and field seasons at the USATF Annual Meeting.

Myrtle Beach, S.C., will host the Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships, Bloomington, Ind., will play host to the Youth Outdoor Championships and Houston, Texas, will host the Junior Olympic Track & Field Championships.

Copyright © 2018 Running Journal