Terer, Mudy winners of 36th Rocket City Marathon

12/10/2012 - 18:20

mudy.jpgGeofrey Terer of Colorado Springs, CO, won the 36th annual Rocket City Marathon in Huntsville, AL, on Dec. 8. It was the first marathon for Terer who ran 2:25:18 for the win. Scott Wietecha of Hendersonville, TN, was second in 2:26:16. Wojciech Kopec of Searcy, AR, was third in 2:27:24, with Peter Kemboi of Hebron, KY, also coming in under 2:30 (2:29:59) for the fourth spot.

On the women’s side, Justyna Mudy of Rome, GA, took the win in 2:46:58. Jackie Dikos of Indianapolis, IN, was second in 2:52:39 with Meggan Franks of Starkville, MS, third with 3:03:34.

Geno Phillips of Chattanooga, TN, led the male masters in 2:36:47 while Meredith Smith of Ashland City, TN, was the women’s winner in 3:21:35.

John Payne of Germantown, TN, won the wheelchair race in 2:21:25.

The Rocket City Marathon is conducted by the Huntsville Track Club. The marathon is part of the Running Journal Grand Prix and is the only marathon on the series.

For full results, see the race website:

Photo: Female winner Justyna Mudy

Copyright © 2018 Running Journal