NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships

11/21/2009 - 21:37

dIIIxc-09.gifCleveland, OH, 11-21-09, By Matt McGowan- Thirty-two teams and fifty-six individuals not on a qualifying team toed the starting line at the Highland Golf Course in Cleveland for the NCAA Division III Women’s Cross Country Championships. A challenging and wet course tested the athlete’s endurance. St Lawrence’s Junior Wendy Pavlus, who placed 20th last year, pulled away from the pack just after the half way point and cruised to victory in 21:28 for the 6,000 meter course. Last year individual champion Bethel’s senior Marie Borner (21:45) nipped Wisconsin-Oshkosh’s senior Ayla Mitchell in the final few meters to take home runner up honors by just a half of a second. DePauw’s senior Lauren Reich (21:50) held off Oberlin’s junior Joanna Johnson (21:54) and Dension’s junior Katie Navarre (21:57) for fourth. Wisconsin La Crosse’s Stephanie Perleberg (22:21), Trinity’s Caitlin Masse (22:21) Nebraska Wesleyan’s Jackie Spelts (22:22) and St Norbert’s Jenny Scherer (22:26) rounded out the top ten.

With no dominating team and a strong balance Wisconsin Eau Claire which did not have a runner in the top twenty won their first ever team title with 171 points. The score was the second highest winning score in the NCAA Women’s Division III race since it started in 1981. St Lawrence improved from their 2008 twenty first place finish to take home the runner up trophy with 180 points. Last year’s runner up Calvin College finished third with 195 points. Last year team champion Middlebury was fourth with 244 points. MIT (254), Withworth (291), John Hopkins (306), Williams (309), Geneseo State (320) and Washington University (334) rounded out the top ten teams.

Defending champion Peter Kosgei of Hamilton and Lynchburg’s senior Ricky Flynn separated themselves from the pack by the two mark and would trade leads for the next two miles. Flynn would pass a struggling Kosegei with 500 meters to go and won the 8,000 meter Championships in 25:09. Kosegei faded to finish forty-third. North Central’s junior Michael Spain (25:32) outran William’s senior Edgar Kosgey (25:34), St Lawrence’s junior Dan Ramsey (25:35) and Wisconsin Platteville’s junior Jason Garvens (25:36) to capture runner up individual honors. North Central Ryan Carrigan and Brandeis’ Paul North finish next with the same time of 25:37. Tufts’ Jesse Faller and Plattsburg State’s Michael Heymann round out the top ten as they crossed the finish line in 25:40.

Last year’s team runner up North Central placed five runners in the top seventeen runners competing on a team to easily win their thirteenth team title with just 50 points. It was their first team title in ten years and their margin of victory (131 points) was the largest in the history of the Division III Men’s National Championships which has been held since 1973. Williams moved up one team spot from 2008 to take home the runner up trophy with 181 points. Allegheny improved seven spots from last year to finish third with their 195 points. NYU (224) edged Cortland State (232) for fourth. Geneseo State (271), Washington University (285), Haverford (333), Wisconsin Platteville (345) and Wisconsin La Crosse (373) rounded out the top ten.

Baldwin-Wallace College, in conjunction with the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission, hosted the 2009 NCAA Division III National Cross Country at the Highland Heights Golf Course.

Check out the complete results on RUNOHIO Results section -

Check back later on the RUNOHIO Galleries for race photos -

For more on this Championships go to -

Check back for coverage of the NCAA Division II and Division I Cross Country National Championships – and

Copyright © 2018 Running Journal