NCAA Division II Cross Country Championships

11/21/2009 - 20:43

ncaa-09-c-xc-div2-logo_0.gifEvansville, IN, 11-21-09, By Matt McGowan - Seattle Pacific’s senior Jessica Pixler took the lead early in the NCAA Division II Women’s Cross Country Championships and captured her third consecutive individual title as she covered the 6,000 meter course in 20:22. Western Washington’s junior Sarah Porter improved eleven spots from 2008 to take home runner up honors with her 20:30. A pair of Missouri Southern runners captured the next two spots as junior Ashley Siler (20:43) edged senior Kimi Shank (20:44) for third. Senior Mary Ballinger of host Southern Indiana was fifth with a time of 20:45. Minnesota-Duluth’s Morgan Place (20:53), Cal St Los Angeles’ Vivien Wadeck (21:02), Millersville’s Priscilla Jennings (21:05), Adams State’s Alicia Nelson (21:07) and Colorado Mines’ Sydney Laws (21:08) rounded out the top ten.

Adams State won their seventh consecutive Women’s NCAA Division II Cross Country team title with their 73 points. Last year’s runner up Grand Valley State (81) again took home the runner up trophy. Missouri Southern (104), Seattle Pacific (151) and Alaska Anchorage (158) finished next. Chico State (172), Minnesota-Duluth (294), Western Washington (300), Western State (306) and Tampa (308) rounded out the top ten.

Adams State’s senior Reuben Mwei (30:27) nipped Harding’s sophomore Daniel Kirwa (30:28) to take home the individual gold. American International’s freshman Glarius Rop (30:32) took home the bronze. Abilene Christian’s junior Amos Sang (30:48) and Adams State’s senior Aaron Braun (31:08) finished next. Adams State’s Brian Medigovich (31:12), Queens’ Oscar Ogwaro (31:18), New Mexico High’s Nicaise Kazingo (31:19), Columbus State’s Meshack Koyiaki (31:22) and Adams State’s Anthony Gauthier (31:28) rounded out the top ten.

Adams State placed five runners in the top eight team runners to easily defend their team title as they scored just 23 points. Western State (86) repeated as the runner up team. Colorado Mines (153) took home third. Western Washington (170), Grand Valley State
(185), Southern Indiana (228), Queens (256), Chico State (284), Harding (286) and Augustana (313) rounded out the top ten.

The University of Southern Indiana and the City of Evansville hosted the NCAA Division II Cross Country Championships.

Check out the complete results on RUNOHIO Results section -

For more on this Championships go to -

Check back for coverage of the NCAA Division III and Division I Cross Country National Championships – and

Copyright © 2018 Running Journal