Eccleston Wins, Hunter Outkicks Engels at Sir Walter Miler

08/07/2017 - 12:17

RALEIGH, NC – In Amanda Eccleston’s third trip to the Sir Walter Miler, a late sprint down the homestretch, past 2015 Champion, Steph Garcia, was enough to secure her first victory in what was the largest crowd to date (4000+), in a winning time of 4:31.72. “I really wanted to win this year, after the last two years,” said Eccleston, after the race to FloTrack. Former Duke graduate, Kate Van Buskirk rounded out the Women’s podium.

In the Men’s race, a surge with 300 meters to go allowed Drew Hunter to defeat a strong men’s field, including Pfafftown native, Craig Engels, in a winning time of 3:57.32. “It feels really good. Look at the field; there were some really good guys in there,” said Hunter, after his first big professional win. Izaic Yorks completed the Men’s podium, and was part of nine men to dip under the hallowed 4:00 barrier. Engels, Drew Piazza, Andrew Dusing, and Tripp Hurt became the 489th, 490th, 491st, and 492nd Americans to compete the feat, according to Track & Field News. Since the Sir Walter Miler’s first year in 2014, the meet has seen the mark broken 26 times. Before that, the most recent sub 4:00 mile in Raleigh was run in 1974.

Starting off the night, Heather Wilson ran a World Record (4:58.84) in the Citius Mag presents the Raleigh Denim Mile. She was the first female athlete ever to break the 5:00 barrier in the Blue Jeans Mile. (Participants run in blue jeans.) Former Sir Walter Miler intern, Alex Boseman, won the Men’s race in 4:37.72. In the Triangle Clash Mile Relay, the Summer of Miles All Stars (3:58.42) held off Fleet Feet Raleigh (4:04.05), and in the Brewery Run Battle Mile Relay, the Nog Run Club defended their title in 4:10.15.

Women’s Elite Mile

1. Amanda Eccleston 4:31.72 ($1000)
2. Steph Garcia 4:31.87 ($700)
3. Kate Van Buskirk 4:32.11 ($500)
4. Emily Lipari 4:32.12 ($250)
5. Rachel Schneider 4:32.66 ($100)
6. Sara Sutherland 4:32.88
7. Heather Kampf 4:33.24
8. Megan Moye 4:34.54
9. Lauren Paquette 4:37.77
10. Katrina Coogan 4:39.67
11. Stephanie Brown 4:44.21
12. Sarah Rapp 4:45.62

Men’s Elite Mile

1. Drew Hunter 3:57.32 ($1000)
2. Craig Engels 3:57.67 ($950)*
3. Izaic Yorks 3:58.57 ($500)
4. Graham Crawford 3:58.60 ($250)
5. Trevor Dunbar 3:58.82 ($100)
6. Drew Piazza 3:59.03 ($250)*
7. Daniel Herrera 3:59.05
8. Andrew Dusing 3:59.10 ($250)*
9. Tripp Hurt 3:59.46 ($250)*
10. Donnie Cowart 4:00.37
11. Luis Vargas 4:00.60
12. Joe Stilin 4:00.78
13. Andrew Colley 4:09.52
14. Avery Martin 4:16.54

*First time Sub 4:00 Bonus

Copyright © 2018 Running Journal