Birmingham Track Club Awards Honors, Names Board Members

02/24/2017 - 15:08

2017 BTC Executive Board.Alex Morrow.Julie Pearce.Monica Henley.Scott Wood.missing Trey Whitt.jpgBIRMINGHAM, AL — Congratulations to the new members of the Executive Board for the Birmingham Track Club. New president is Monica Henley, who succeeds Alex Morrow, who now serves as immediate past president. Other officers are Scott Wood, vice president; Trey Whitt, treasurer; and Julie Pearce, secretary;

In keeping with tradition, Outgoing BTC President Alex Morrow presented the Club’s annual service awards for outstanding contributions to the BTC.

The recipient of the Dr. Arthur Black/Rick Melanson Annual Service Award was Kim Benner, BTC volunteer coordinator. The BTC’s oldest award is given annually to the most outstanding club member over the past year for continued outstanding leadership and service to the BTC. Kim has done an outstanding job recruiting, coordinating and motivating volunteers for a multitude of BTC races and events, which is no easy task. The BTC is most appreciative of Kim’s enthusiasm, dedication and leadership.

The Randy Johnson/Danny Haralson Annual Service Award was created to honor the “newer” BTC member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and given freely of his or her time in a voluntary capacity in ways that help further the mission of the BTC. The recipient was Darrell Gibson, BTC finish line coordinator. Often working tirelessly behind the scenes (and quite often, well before sunrise), Darrell and his crew are responsible for putting up and breaking down the finish lines at BTC races, as well as keeping an inventory of BTC supplies and equipment. Darrell’s dedication to detail keeps our races running smoothly and professionally.

Periodically, the BTC presents the BTC Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is presented only when the BTC Executive Board believes a long-time member deserves special recognition for his or her long-term service and dedication to the BTC over many years. The 2016 BTC Executive Board was very pleased to award a Lifetime Achievement Award to Charles Thompson. Charles has been a member of the BTC for as long as anyone can remember — and one of its steadfast supporters. He attends almost every board meeting and BTC event, and he is a dedicated volunteer at BTC races. Charles also devotes a significant amount of his time as a volunteer race official for USATF.

Recognition was also given to new and retuning members of the BTC’s 1200 Mile Club. New members received their 1200 Mile Club jackets, and returning members received a patch commemorating their achievement for 2016.
Award winner Kim Bennett and Alex Morrow.jpg

Top photo: L-R are outgoing President Alex Morrow, Julie Pearce, incoming President Monica Henley, and Scott Wood. Not pictured was Trey Whitt.
Bottom photo: Kim Benner was named the most outstanding Birmingham Track Club member over the past year. She receives her award from outgoing President Alex Morrow.

Copyright © 2017 Running Journal